Art Journal page

This week’s art journal page was an experiment in using the eraser tool.

I started with a scanned image of an old newspaper want-ad section. Then I painted some yellow and orange over the image using some of the paint brushes from the Jessica Sprague Digital Art Journaling class supplies.

After the paint I added some stamps in both black and white using Jodie Lee Designs Vintage Brush Club, Tangie Baxter AJC12 Parcel04 Gesso Lace and Carrie Stephens Basics Floral stamp.

I then painted over the whole canvas with a teal blue again using paint brushes from the Jessica Sprague Digital Art Journaling class supplies.

After the paint I used the eraser tool to erase some of the paint to let the bottom layers show through. I used both Jodie Lee Designs Vintage Brush Club and Tangie Baxter AJC12 Parcel04 Gesso Lace. I made the quote brush by first typing out  the text the way I wanted it and then creating a brush from it.  Before I started erasing I made a copy of the blue paint layer — just in case. And I’m glad I did because it took a few tries to get the erased portions to look the way I wanted them to look.


After the erasing was done I added some red paint, some black lines and an ink splash. I made raised dots around the stamped lace circles by using the elliptical marquee tool to make a small circle which I filled with white. I then copy and pasted them around the lace (I was trying for an uneven look so they looked handmade) and applied a bevel style to make them pop. I applied red paint to some of the dots. The last step was adding a Keri Schueller Broken In Paper overlay.

It was a lot of work to create but I’m pretty happy with the way it turned out. Plus, I learned a lot!

Leave a Reply

