Starbucks

Writing is a struggle against silence.   Carlos Fuentes

I went to Starbucks yesterday to see if going out would help with my writing. I don’t consider myself a writer, I’m not a writer, but I do want to write. My problem is starting. I’ve been sitting in my house for so long (my own fault) and not writing that I decided a change in scenery and location might help. That and reading some books about getting started writing.

So, I took my iPad and bought a cup of tea and some fruit and cheese and started observing and writing. It is interesting to actually pay attention to what goes on in a place like Starbucks. Some people are, apparently, afraid to order anything without the barista’s input. Some people dress like a 1980’s preppy. Some people are very glamorous, some not so much.

I did manage to write while I was there. I wrote about some of the people and my reactions to them. I wrote about the experience of writing outside of my usual (well, when I do write) place and I wrote about how I felt to be there.

All in all, I enjoyed it. I will be going back. I wrote and I want to write.

Leave a Reply

