Creative Practice

Man cannot discover new oceans unless he has the courage to lose sight of the shore.

Andre Gide

I subscribe to Ali Edward‘s email postings “52 Creative Lifts.” Week 1 was about creative practice. Something that’s also talked about in Julia Cameron’s The Artist’s Way. It ‘s something I need to work on. The idea is that you need to practice whatever it is you want to do. You can’t expect to be able to do anything really great, or even good, without practicing. I tend to expect me to be able to do something wonderful the first time I do it and, knowing that I can’t, I don’t even start. Like making art journaling pages or art quilts or free-motion quilting or, especially, blogging. I seem to block out the fact that no one (well most people) can’t do something perfectly that they have never done before. I don’t practice. One of my goals for this year is to set aside time each day to practice the things I want to learn. And one of the main things I want to learn and do this year is blog writing. In order to bring that goal to fruition and to practice my writing, I have set myself a goal of writing at least one blog post every day. I have also admitted to myself that my posts may not be great. Hopefully, with practice, they will get better. But I won’t know that without the practice.

My other areas to practice are:

Project Life: documenting our life every week for the entire year. I am using this practice to help me get better at both journaling and photography.

Art Journaling: making art pages and documenting my life, thoughts, fears and successes. I am using this practice to help me get better at both journaling about myself and getting over the fear of making art that is not a great masterpiece.

Art Quilting: making small quilted wall hangings. I am using this practice to help me get over the fear of making art that is not a great masterpiece.

One thought on “Creative Practice

  1. Pingback: Big Projects « Finding Imperfection

Leave a Reply

